Spurred by E’s post and my purchase of the ohsocute baby bok choy, here is my entry for CCK’s New Foods Challenge. Now I got quite a few heads of baby bok choy so I had the opportunity to try it out a few ways. I mean to try buzzing it up into a smoothie but I forgot about it and only remembered after I had chopped up my last two and used them for the stuffed eggplants, whoops!

In a stir fry:

IMG_7458

Stuffed eggplant. I was doing so well with this one, all ready for writing up a recipe but then when I got to adding spices it all fell to the wayside. So I have a partial recipe for it (inspired by a post by mihl of seitan is my motor, who also didn’t get the recipe written down!)

IMG_7477

1 1/2 eggplants, sliced in half lengthwise, flesh scooped out of skins and chopped

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 medium onion, diced

1 cup cooked rice

4 mushrooms, chopped

2 heads baby bok choy, sliced

Basil, parsley, cumin, balsamic vinegar, soy sauce

Preheat oven to 400F. Place eggplan skins in and bake for 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile, place olive oil and onion in frying pan and cook. Once onion begins to brown add eggplant and cook until softened. Add rice and mushrooms, cook until mushrooms have begun to release their juices and add bok choy. Now add whatever spices/seasoning you like! Cook a few minutes more, until bok choy is bright green. Spoon into eggplant skins and return to oven. Bake for 15 or so minutes, until the top of the filling begins to brown. Remove and enjoy!

So, I have to say that I quite like the little guys! Not super flavourful but I think they would fill in well in most recipes calling for a leafy green.

-K

