What with my gluten free diet as of late, I’ve discovered that GF baking might actually be the kiss of death. I’ve had more epic baking disasters in the past few weeks than I’ve ever had before! Tonight I really wanted an oatmeal raisin cookie. Since I am excluding oats from my diet for now, I thought that I might be able to substitute quinoa flakes for rolled oats. The cookies I came up with are definitely tasty – they have a good chewiness from the quinoa flakes (albeit slightly less than oats would have provided), and don’t taste too ‘alternative’ to me (although the taste of the quinoa flakes is slightly noticable.) If I made these again, I might try and alter the recipe slightly to make them more crispy, although I think the chewiness of them would be a plus for most people – I am definitely of the opinion that crispy cookies are better than chewy cookies, although I think I may be in the minority on this one!

Anyways, here is the recipe!

Gluten Free No Oats ‘Oatmeal’ Raisin Cookies

IMG_1374

Preheat oven to 350F.
-whisk 1 tsp. ener-g egg replacement powder with 2 tbsp. water in a small bowl and set aside

In a mixing bowl combine:
-1/4 c. sorghum flour (or rice flour might work fine too, I think)
-1/4 c. buckwheat flour
-1/4 tsp. xanthan gum
-1/2 tsp. baking powder
-1/4 tsp. baking soda
-1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
-pinch nutmeg
-pinch salt

In a separate bowl, combine:
-2 tbsp. neutral oil
-2 tbsp. unsweetened applesauce
-1/4 c. brown sugar
-1/4 tsp. vanilla

Stir the egg replacement mixture into the wet ingredients, and then combine the two mixes. Add in:
-1/2 c. quinoa flakes
-1/2 c. raisins (or chocolate chips, or a mix!)

Stir to combine, and then scoop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto a greased or non-stick cookie sheet. Squish down slightly, as these don’t spread at all while in the oven. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the edges and bottoms are nicely browned, remove and cool on wire rack. Makes 12 small cookies.

-Eve

