May is kind of birthday month around here; Eve,  my older brother, and I all get another year older.  My birthday was near the beginning of the month and one of my fellow dancers baked me a delicious vegan cake (she makes everyone a cake on their birthday, but I love that she catered to my dietary choices) that I have pictures of, coming soon… Eve’s birthday has also passed, but we are going to do a bit of a joint celebration sometime soon because she is going to be in my neck of the woods which is really exciting since we haven’t seen eachother in about a year and a half!!

 The cake pictured above is my brothers vegan, gluten-free, chocolate coconut cake. Again this was made possible by the generosity of bloggers who are far more talented than I in the realm of gluten-free baking than I (although I am getting somewhat more comfortable with it, hooray!)

Gluten-free Chocolate Coconut Birthday Cake

Cake:

I used this cupcake recipe from The Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen for the cake. I did make a couple of alterations (I think it’s a serious affliction, this not being able to ever actually follow a recipe as is) namely using chocolate Silk in place of the almond or soymilk, and substituting 1/2 cup teff flour in for 1/2 cup of the sorghum flour. The recipe made enough for a double layer circular cake and I would say I baked them for about 35 minutes. I am also really quite pleased with how moist it turned out (although I had originally intended to substitute about half the oil for applesauce, the powers that stock the pantry around here had other things in mind). We ended up eating the assembled cake about three days after I had made the two cake layers and I was expecting it to be really dry and crumbly, but not so!

For the coconut filling I basically made a coconut pudding:

1 1/2 cups creamed coconut (mine came as a paste in a box that you add water to) I am sure you could use coconut milk in place of this just fine.

1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon coconut extract

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Whisk all ingredients together in a small saucepan, except shredded coconut, and bring to a boil. Continue whisking constantly until mixture thickens. Remove from heat and stir in shredded coconut. Allow to cool somewhat before spreading between cake layers. I didn’t end up using all of the pudding for the cake.

Fluffy Chocolate Icing:

Modified from The Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen

1 cup vegan butter substitute (I would normally use Earth Balance but recently tried out the new Becel Vegan this time around-as it doesn’t get really hard when cold, your icing made with this will always stay quite soft)

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1/2 – 3/4 cup arrowroot flour

1/2 cup agave nectar

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon almond extract (or coconut to go with the cake theme)

Combine all ingredients in mixing bowl and beat with elexctric mixer until fully combined and fluffy. Add more arrowroot flour to get your desired consistency. Spread on your cooled cake.

Enjoy a slice of your highly dietarily inclusive cake!

-K

