Carob powder was on sale last week, and I have come to the conclusion that I am infatuated with it. A few years ago, when I first tried carob, I wrote it off as being cocoa’s sad cousin that tasted a bit like dirty socks. Luckily, I’ve reformed my opinion! This drink is really delicious, and a nice alternative to hot cocoa. I think it would be even better with melted carob, though I’ve yet to get my hands on carob chips.

Hot Carob Drink for One (I feel like you should be able to call this a hot carob, like hot cocoa, but that just sounds strange….)

-1 1/4 c. non-dairy milk

-1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

-1 1/2 – 2 tbsp. carob powder

-1/2 – 1 tbsp. maple syrup

-pinch/sprinkle of cinnamon

Blend all ingredients in a blender (this gets all the lumps out, and makes it frothy!), and then heat and serve! Yum! :)

-Eve

