img_73981

I have had a hankering for french toast for a few days now but the only recipe I have is one that requires a banana and I have none. This is actually my adaptation from a recipe posted in the comments of another blog. Ideally I would like to try it again using more soymilk.

img_73861

1/3 cup roasted almond butter

1/2 cup soymilk (I would suggest closer to 3/4 cup so the mixture soaks into the bread)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ginger

4 slices whole grain bread (If using more soymilk, I imagine this will make closer to 6 or 7 slices)

Whisk almond butter and milk together until smooth, add extract and spices and stir to combine. Dredge each slice of bread in the mixture and cook in a lightly oiled frying pan until browned on both sides. Eat with your choice of topping (I opted for blueberries and maple syrup although I think it would be great with pear)

I meant to do a nutritional analysis on this recipe, I might still do it and come back to add it. I would think compared to normal french toast recipes this shouldn’t be too bad; calcium from the almond butter and soymilk, magnesium in maple syrup, fruit… all good stuff!

K

