It’s been forever since I posted anything! Considering how often I take inspiration from other blogs, I really ought to be sharing a bit more. Here’s the thing: I make tasty food every night – (well, nearly every night – sometimes there are disasters, but we don’t speak of such things) – but I rarely take decent photos. From here on out, I am not going to let less than stellar photos deter me from posting. Lucky for us, K is far more talented with a camera – I can only hope I improve with time!

Now, a recipe:
I have had many failures with vegan brownies – I’ve had brownies that burn, I’ve had brownies that boil, and I’ve had brownies that were hideously oily. This has led me to conclude that a) vegan brownies are tricksy things! and that b) I am fussy about my brownies. Here is my take on the egg-laden brownie I grew up on. These are made with less oil than most, and with chocolate instead of cocoa powder. Also, they are less fudgy and more cakey – definitely a preference of mine.

4 oz. unsweetened chocolate (4 baker’s chocolate squares)

1/4 c. ‘butter’

3/4 c. unsweetened applesauce

2 tbsp. flax powder/meal

5 tbsp. water

1 c. sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

1 c. flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

pinch salt

3/4 c. chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350F and grease an 8″ by 8″ pan in advance.
2. Mix together the flax meal and water and let stand.
3. Melt the unsweetened chocolate in a double boiler (or the microwave, if you’re brave!) When it’s melted, add the butter and stir until all combined/melted. Set aside to let cool a bit.
4. Add the applesauce, vanilla, and sugar to the flax mixture, and stir to combine.
5. In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder and soda, and salt.
6. Stir the chocolate/butter liquid into the applesauce/flax mix. Combine.
7. Stir the liquid into the dry. Don’t overmix! Add chocolate chips.
8. Pour into the 8 by 8 pan and cook for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
9. Enjoy! I pureed some frozen raspberries (warmed briefly in the microwave) with a squirt of agave to have with mine.
img_0695
Coming up: I recently expanded my cookbook collection, and I am very excited to share my thoughts on these books, including (but not limited to!) Vegan Soul Kitchen (Bryant Terry), Vegan Fire and Spice (Robin Robertson), Vegan Soups and Hearty Stews for All Seasons (Nava Atlas), and Peter Reinhardt’s Whole Grain Breads. Hooray cookbooks!
-E

