Many people are posting about quick and relatively heat-free meals that they are making now that the days are getting warmer. Although it cooled off a bit today, the last week or so here in Pennsylvania has been way too hot for me, especially for April – (it’s actually still snowing in my home town! Hooray Canada!) I’ve been avoiding doing a lot of cooking, opting to make things ahead of time and store them in the fridge until supper. This pasta salad is pretty simple, but I love all the ingredients. Can you really go wrong with olives, pine nuts, and sundried tomatoes? I think this would be delicious with a light pesto style dressing, but I had no basil. Maybe next time!

img_1085
Pine Nut, Olive, and Sundried Tomato Pasta Salad

-5-6 c. cooked salad-type pasta, cooled (I used multicoloured whole wheat radiatore)
-1/2 c. toasted pine nuts
-1/2 c. finely chopped sweet red pepper
-1/2 c. chopped green olives
-1/3 c. slivered sundried tomatoes (the olive packed kind)
-1/4 c. finely chopped red onion
Combine.
In a bowl whisk together:
-1 tsp. dijon mustard
-2 tbsp. red wine vinegar
-1 tsp. light agave nectar
-2 tbsp. olive oil from the sundried tomatoes
-2 tbsp. water
-2 small cloves garlic, minced
-salt and pepper to taste
Pour over pasta and accoutrements, and stir to combine. Yum!

-E

