Many years ago, I used to buy a pre-made mixed bean salad from an uppity sort of grocery store that will go unnamed. It was pretty good, but I’ve found that it’s easy to prepare a version that is much, much better than anything from a deli. Preparing the beans from dried ensures that everything tastes fresh, but canned would work too. I used five of my favourite beans, but I’m sure you could use up any odds and ends of beans you might already have prepared. (veggies, too!) The oil-free dressing is based off of the dressing from the succotash salsa recipe in Vegan Soul Kitchen.

img_11381

Stir together approximately:

-1/2 c.  cooked black beans
-1/2 c. cooked pinto beans
-1/2 c. cooked baby lima beans (I used frozen)
-1/2 c. cooked chickpeas
-1 to 1 1/2 c. diced pepper (I used a combination of red, orange, and yellow)
-1/4 -1/3 c. minced red onion
Have ready ~1/2 c. cooked full size lima beans, but don’t add them to the mix yet. I picked over mine and set aside the broken ones to use in a bean dip later on – they don’t fare well in a salad.

In a small bowl whisk together:
-2 tbsp each fresh lemon and lime juice
-1 jalepeno, very finely minced
-1 tsp. agave
– 2 cloves garlic, crushed
-1/4 c. finely minced cilantro, packed
-generous grind of black pepper
-salt to taste

Stir the dressing into the bean mix, and then add the 1/2 c. of full size lima beans. Adding them at the very end ensures that they don’t break apart.

This keeps well in the fridge – I’ve been eating mine for the past few days at lunch, and am feeling very virtuous for eating such a variety of beans! : )

-E

