Whew, that was a whirlwind couple of weeks! Things have settled down now, I am moved into my new place which has a balcony and soon, veggies!! I am really excited about growing veggies out there so stay tuned for more on that.

Unfortunately, I don’t have much of anything on the new food front. My new place has a grand total of two spices (basil and parsley) which makes for limited creative meal choices. Instead I am focusing today on my recent grocery trips. I am pretty pleased with myself. I purchased groceries yesterday and tallied up my haul; $22.50 for the lot which included a bunch of kale, dried garbanzos, bag of spinach, 7 baby bok choy (I have never had these before, stay tuned!), 9 apples (slightly bruised but mostly organic!), a mango, three eggplant, 4 grapefruit, 2 zucchini, a big bag of mushrooms, 8 bell peppers. Not too shabby if I do say so myself! 

IMG_7454

My new place is much more expensive than my old one so I am trying to be quite cost conscious with my purchases and who isn’t these days! I thought I would post some of my habits for getting groceries on the cheap:

– compare prices, this is even easier now as most stores have their weekly flyers online! I have a pretty good idea now of what stores have the best prices for various items.                                                                                                                        

-purchase produce that is local and/or in season, they are often much cheaper-lower transit costs get passed onto the consumer

-my new favourite is to check the discounted produce area (not all stores have these though, sadly) I found my nine, mostly organic, apples here for 99cents for the lot. Aside from some minor bruising they were fine.

-K

