IMG_7461

Back into the kitchen! I got three spices today (are they ever pricey!!) and I feel like I can cook again! I opted for a healthier attempt at fruit crisp; quinoa flakes for a complete protein, no refined sugars, healthy fats from the olive oil. I would easily sub more rolled oats for the quinoa flakes if you can’t find them, or even just remove them as there is quite a bit of crisp to fruit in this recipe.

1 cup of rolled oats

1/2 cup quinoa flakes

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp cardamom

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp olive oil

4 tbsp maple syrup

2 medium apples, chopped (I didn’t bother peeling mine, but feel free to do so)

1 1/2- 2 cups frozen mixed berries

IMG_7465

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place berries and chopped apple in an 8″ square pan. In a bowl mix oats, quinoa flakes, spices, extract, oil and maple syrup. Stir until combined. This topping doesn’t really clump up much. Spread on top of fruit. Bake for 25 minutes, until top is golden brown.

Enjoy!

-K

