Can you tell the weather is heating up? No more slaving over a hot stove/oven (okay, thats a lie, the temperature needs to go up a lot more before I stop using the oven!) to get a meal on the table. This was a nice cool and simple supper, perfect for a leasurely weekend evening.

IMG_7488

Peach Almond Mango Smoothie

This smoothie was concocted after I found out my impulse almond milk purchase was far too sweet for my taste. Perfect for baking and sweet smoothies though! No additional sweeteners required. If your almond milk isn’t that sweet feel free to sweeten to your liking.

2 cups frozen peaches and mango

1 – 1 1/2 cups almond milk

Place in blender and blend. My blender is a little 2 cup machine so this pretty much filled it up and required some stirring in between to ensure everything got blended up smoothly.

 

IMG_7484

Spinach sun-dried tomato Salad

This salad is delicious! Sun-dried tomatoes are a work of culinary genius I tell you. The ones I used for this are packed in a delicious herb oil that really makes the salad. I am strictly a non salad dressing type of person so the oil in this is minimal. Feel free to up the amount if you prefer. This has been on the rotation for a few days now and the first time I forgot the basil leaves, still tasted great so feel free to skip the basil as long as you have a well spiced oil.

2 large handfuls of spinach, washed and torn

2 heaping tablespoons blanced and sliced almonds

1 Tbsp pine nuts

4 sun dried tomatoes, (oil-packed) drained and thinly sliced

4 basil leaves, thinly sliced

1/2- 1 Tbsp reserved oil from sun-dried tomatoes

Place spinach in bowl. Top with almonds, pine nuts, sliced tomatoes and basil leaves. Toss and drizzle with oil.

-K

