IMG_7511

Ever since Heidi Swansonposted her recipe for mesquite chocolate chip cookies on her website a few years back I have been intrigued by the idea of them. Ever since then I have searched for mesquite flour high and low to no avail. I finally spied a wee bag of it in the local health food store here a few weeks back and quickly snatched it up, eager to finally be able to try the cookies out. I have since made the recipe three times and they really are fantastic, worth the trouble to find the flour! I took them to ballet today and they were happily consumed by the omnivores there, so I really do suggest giving them a try if you can find the elusive mesquite flour.

I stuck a batch of these in the freezer in an attempt to slow down their consumption and I found that they acquired an almost caramel flavour. I don’t know if this occurs after a day or two normally but if you can handle not eating them all, stuff a few in the freezer and try it out!

Mesquite flour is an interesting ingredient in itself. I am excited to try it out in other capacities. It has a sweet, nutty taste and quite the nutritional profile: a good source of protein, particularly the amino acid lysine, high in calcium, iron, zinc, magnesium and potassium, is high fibre and low glycemic.

Adapted from Heidi Swansons recipe

1 1/4 cups light spelt flour

1/2 cup mesquite flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup earth balance (or vegan butter substitute)

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons applesauce

1 scant cup sugar

1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons ground flax seed

1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to  375F (I baked mine at more like 345F but I need to get an oven thermometer as I am not sure my oven is accurate). Mix flours, baking soda and baking powder in a bowl, set aside. Combine sugar, earth balance, applesauce, flax seed and vanilla in a bowl and mix well. Add flour mixture and stir to combine. Stir in chocolate chips. Drop by tablespoons (I shaped mine into balls) onto a cookie sheet and cook for 8-10 minutes until spread out and beginning to brown.

Makes approximately 2 dozen small cookies.

-K

