This blog hasn’t really ever covered everyday vegan food – we’ve mostly posted about particular recipes, etc. I have to say, some of my favourite blogs are ones that cover simple, everyday meals, so I thought I would give it a go!

Since my boyfriend has left for school, I’ve been cooking for just myself for the first time in a while. It’s a bit of a shocker – I already made the mistake of making a FULL recipe of snobby joes from the veganomicon – I was eating it for days!  I’m sure it would be easiest to make a big pot of something and eat it for several days, but I have to say – I don’t like leftovers! I usually make enough food to cover the next day’s lunch, but that’s really all I can tolerate – I’d rather be making something new and fresh! So, small batches is the key to success!

And now without further delay, everyday eats ala Eve. Take 1 – Supper:

Plate #1: A medium salad, topped with 1/2 avocado and drizzled with my go-to dressing – equal (or so) parts balsamic vinegar and flax oil, and a heavy hand with the agave nectar. Yum!IMG_1495

Plate #2: (Um, I hope I’m not the only one that often uses two plates!)

IMG_1498

About 1/2 sweet potato, baked in wedges with ketchup, quinoa, and savoury french lentils from ED+BV. Admittedly, this recipe was heavily altered to accommodate my fermented molasses (gross!), mysteriously missing rosemary, and the absence of ‘savoury’ (?) from my kitchen. Good thing I looked through the recipe before I started cooking, right? Haha! In any case, it was very tasty – a welcome change from go-to curried lentil dishes. I found it a bit too salty, even though I used less buillion than the recipe called for. I like to think that I am a little more sensitive to salt than the average joe, and I have definitely found that the recipes in this cookbook call for way too much salt for my liking  – often using both salt and soy sauce.

To accompany my supper, an un-pictured small glass of red wine, and a delectable dessert: a scoop of purely decadent vanilla non-dairy ice cream, a small bit of melted dark chocolate, 1/2 cubed pear, and 4 chunks of candied ginger, diced finely. Mmm. I should have taken a photo!

-Eve

