Peach Ice Cream

…for ice cream!! Okay, almost not but I am visiting home and its been very summery here (and my parents have an ice cream maker!) Perfect reasons to churn out some ice cream! One of my biggest issues with homemade ice cream has been keeping it scoopable after some time in the freezer so after a bunch of researching I have several techniques to try out. This is attempt #1: using fruit pectin. I stole this idea from Celine and Joni who apparently have a recipe in their upcoming cookbook utilizing the technique. I don’t know if it would work with non-fruit flavours so I went with peach for my test. Verdict: not perfect but a definite improvement over the usual hard-as-rock specimens. The ice cream didn’t last too long either so I figure thats a good sign too.

Peach Cardamom Ice Cream:

2 cups soymilk (I think almond milk might be nicer in this but I haven’t tried it – too many ideas, not enough time)

6 cups sliced, and peeled, peaches

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1/2 cup maple syrup (If I was to make this again I would reduce this amount to 1/4 cup, I forgot that the pectin would add quite a bit of sweetness and my peaches were nice and ripe)

1/2 teaspoon cardamom

1 packet powdered fruit pectin (mine was 57 grams)

Blend peaches and soymilk until smooth, you will have a very thick mixture. Pour into saucepan and add remaining ingredients. Bring to a simmer and add pectin, boiling for two to three minutes. Remove from heat and cool mixture fully. Pour into ice cream maker and follow your machine’s instructions.

Still on my list: coconut pistachio gelato and brownie chunk ice cream. Stay tuned!!

-K

