I wasn’t planning on posting about this soup, but it ended up being so delicious that I figured it was blog-worthy. Since I didn’t measure anything when I made it, I’m estimating amounts here, but it is so simple that you’ll probably want to eyeball it anyways! I was inspired by this version over at What The Hell Does A Vegan Eat, Anyway – the dehydrated veggies in that soup look really good. I wish I had a dehydrator! In the meantime….

IMG_1577

Dehydrator-free gazpacho with corn:

-2 large tomatoes
-2 ears of corn
-1/2 carrot
-1 small clove garlic
-about 1 tbsp. tamari, or to taste
-juice of 1/2 lime
-couple dashes of hot sauce, or to taste (or a pinch of cayenne, or some fresh hot pepper, etc.)
-water – start with 1 cup and see if you need more – it’ll depend on how much liquid is in your tomatoes, etc
-1/4 c. packed cilantro

Place in blender:

-1 ear of corn, shucked and cut from the cob
-1 tomato, quartered
-the 1/2 carrot, chopped into smaller pieces
-the garlic clove, tamari, lime juice, and hot sauce
-water, and extra as needed

Whiz up until smooth. Add the cilantro, and buzz a few times so that the cilantro is minced, but not pureed. Transfer this into a large bowl, and add:

-the other ear corn, shucked and cut from the cob
-the other tomato, finely diced

Stir, serve, eat! I plopped some cubed avocado on the top of mine, and it was really, really tasty! Probably serves 2, or 1 person with a voracious appetite. Like um, me.

I googled ‘gazpacho’ before I posted this, just to make sure what I made could even be called gazpacho. Apparently, the traditional way of making it is with a mortar and pestle. This is still preferred by some people, as it leaves a bit of texture and doesn’t have foam the same way a blender makes. My take on gazpacho is not entirely smooth, since the blended corn and carrot will still have some texture, and there is added corn and tomato in it too. And, if you let the soup sit for a while, the foam goes away, no mortar and pestle required! 😛

-Eve

