Vegan Mofo

….great food, even! I’m pretty sure that I’ve maxed out the ability of my teeny point and shoot, as it seem incapable of taking photos that are not fuzzy or dull looking. Alternatively, it is entirely possible that I have much less ability with a camera than I like to imagine! 🙂 In any case, I’m forging ahead!

In an effort to use my cookbooks more during MoFo, I’ve made two totally delectable recipes in the past day:

IMG_1799These are the Cinnamon Sweet Tortilla Chips from Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan. I don’t know how many times I’ve passed over this recipe, but I am so glad I finally noticed it! It is super simple, and a PERFECT way to use up your stale tortillas (brown rice tortillas, in my case). I nixed the sugar and canola oil that the recipe calls for, and instead brushed my strips with a slurry of maple syrup, cinnamon, and coconut oil. I inhaled these at a rather embarrassing rate….

And for supper last night, I made the Spaghetti Squash Mexicana with Tropical Salsa Fresca, from the Veganomicon. (sounds gourmet, no?)

IMG_1802

This was quite simple and very, very tasty. The tropical salsa fresca was a blend of avocado, tomato, fresh pineapple, cilantro and lime, but I added some red onion and a squirt of lemon juice, as I was lacking a lime.  Spaghetti squash is amazing!

Enjoy your weekends! 🙂

-Eve

