Vegan Mofo

I love the idea of raw desserts. I love how rich and flavourful they can be, and I love how it is possible to create delicious treats with no baking whatsoever! However, what I don’t love is the ingredient requirements of most raw dessert recipes. 4 cups cashews? No thanks! 1 cup coconut oil? As if! 1/2 cup agave? Do I look like I’m made of money? And so on….

To compound the issue, most of the time I’m cooking for one, so there is no way I need a full size anything floating around the kitchen! Fortunately, raw desserts lend themselves well to being downsized. Here is my recipe for a totally delectable Raw Tropical Cheezecake for One:

IMG_1843

makes 4 small servings

Crust:

-1/8 cup almonds
-2 tbsp. unsweetened shredded coconut
-1 medjool date
-1/2 tbsp. agave
-1/4 tsp. vanilla

Combine in a food processor or blender, and grind until it forms a ball with no big chunks of almond. Grease a small container (I used a tupperware) with coconut oil and press the crust into the bottom.

IMG_1821

Cheezecake:

-1/2 cup cashews (soaking is probably a good plan if you aren’t using a high powered blender)
-5 chunks fresh pineapple, or about 1/4 cup packed
-2 tbsp. agave
-1/2 tbsp. coconut oil

Combine in a blender and process until totally smooth and custard-like. Pour onto the crust and smooth out the top. Cover and freeze (I left it in overnight), or until totally firm. It won’t freeze solid or feel frozen, so it is likely best served straight out the freezer. I ate mine with some fresh pineapple coulis. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

IMG_1859

-Eve

