Vegan Mofo

After reading several bloggers testimonials about Pure Market Express along with my ongoing curiosity about raw foods I decided I had to try it for myself. Mind you, not in the conventional manner- first off I doubt that I could get fresh food shipped across the border, and I am on a budget that doesn’t have room for pricey premade dishes, no matter how delectable. So I did the next best thing- took a look at their online offerings and set about recreating a few.

First up was the sweet potato pineapple slaw.  Armed with the grating disk for my food processor I got busy slicing up sweet potato, apple, and pineapple. Once all the ingredients were mixed up I was presented with a gorgeous fall hued dish that tasted as good as it looked! The mix of textures and flavours was delicious and I am sad that it wasn’t my culinary intuition that came up with the tasty combination. So far I have made this twice (the second time without the nuts and it was still just as tasty) and I am sure it will be on regular rotation from now on.

IMG_7650

1 apple, cored (you could peel it if you like, but I didn’t bother – extra fibre!)

1/2 a medium sweet potato, peeled (I would say 1 -1 1/2 cups)

1 cup pineapple chunks (I used canned, but fresh would be even more delicious)

1/2 cup walnut halves, ground

1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice

1/2 cup raisins

Grate apple, sweet potato and pineapple. Mix in a bowl. Add in walnuts, lemon juice and raisins. Stir.

If you have a chance to make it a bit ahead of serving, the flavours are very nice after they have had a chance to meld a bit.

Enjoy!

-K

