Vegan MofoIf you’re not Canadian, I think it might be a safe assumption that you’ve probably never heard of nanaimo bars. (correct me if I’m wrong!) If this is indeed true, don’t worry, I’m here to show you the light! πŸ™‚

Nanaimo bars are a very rich, very Canadian dessert bar that originated from the city of Nanaimo, British Columbia. They consist of three layers – the bottom, which is a dense chocolate/coconut/nut/crushed vanilla cookie affair, then a layer of vanilla custard-y icing, and finally a thin layer of chocolate. I grew up eating these (my mom’s recipe actually uses raw egg, yick!), and they were definitely something I was thrilled to have (very!) successfully veganized.

IMG_0961

Yes, I eat bars with forks. Don't you?

When I made these earlier this year, the pan was scraped clean at a truly embarrassing speed. Now, for the sad part: I didn’t write down the recipe! I’m really kicking myself for not having recorded what I did, because I know I went to great lengths to make these really delicious – even making my own cookie crumbs, etc.

I’m a big tease, please forgive me. At some point, I promise I’ll try my hand at them again – if you don’t beat me to it! πŸ™‚

-Eve

