It seems to me that there are two categories when it comes to preparing squash and sweet potato. Category one involves seasonings like cinnamon, brown sugar, and maple syrup. Category two involves all manner of things flavourful and spicy – cumin, curry, cayenne, etc. I fall firmly into category two – unless it’s dessert, the idea of sweetened squash doesn’t sit well with me at all! One of favourite way to prepare squash and sweet potato is to make pureed soups. Often, I’ll set out with a vague idea of a finished soup in mind, prep some ingredients, and go from there. And anytime I can go from this….

IMG_1876….to this…..

IMG_1893

…..I know I’ve done something right! This thick sweet potato/carrot soup with tempeh is lightly spiced, slightly tangy, and makes a perfectly delicious fall meal. I know it might not seem like the ingredients ‘go’, but I promise the resulting soup is very tasty. 🙂

-1/2 med. onion, diced
-4 small cloves garlic, or 2-3 normal sized ones, minced or crushed
-1 inch cube ginger, minced or grated
-1 med. sweet potato, diced
-equivalent to 1 large carrot, sliced
-1/2 tsp. cumin seeds
-heaping 1/4 tsp. coriander seeds
-1/4 tsp. garam masala
-pinch cayenne
-3 cups water
-1/2 bullion cube
-2 tbsp. lemon juice
-1 tbsp. light miso mixed with 1 tbsp. water
-1/2 package tempeh, cubed (4 oz.) I used Lightlife wild rice tempeh (optional, I think this would be good with chickpeas, too)

Sautee the onion in a bit of oil over medium heat until translucent. Splash in water as necessary. Add the garlic, ginger, cumin, coriander, garam masala, and cayenne, and sautee for a couple minutes longer. Put the water, bullion cube, sweet potato, and carrot in, cover and simmer until the carrot and sweet potato are totally soft. Remove from heat and puree in blender until everything is smooth – use a paper towel over the hole in the lid so that steam doesn’t build up. Return to pot, stir in the lemon juice and miso paste, stir, and adjust seasonings to taste. Mix in tempeh chunks and serve!

Be sure to check in tomorrow (Saturday 10th) to enter our giveaway! It’s exciting! 🙂

-Eve

