Vegan Mofo

Since I am not very good at being a true food blogger, I have decided to just compile some tips I have devised to help me meet my daily quota. Hopefully they will be of use to some readers as well.

First off, I find that by trying to get some veggies (and grains) at each meal, particularly breakfast, goes a long way to getting enough by the end of the day. Now lunch and dinner are not hard at all to pile on the veggies, but breakfast is not as easy. Here is what I have been doing:

Oats with veggies ‘snuck’ in: Ricki’s zucchini bread oats, my own pumpkin bread oats

IMG_7682  IMG_7695 

Green smoothies (these are a fantastic way to get greens in at breakfast!)

IMG_7657

Baked goods: Muffins are a great way to get veggies in and make for an easy breakfast on the go -Susan’s Carrot Spice Muffins, or her zucchini muffins, or make some pumpkin bread into muffins

Tofu scrambles are another great way to get a variety of veggies in, although perhaps not for most people as an everyday breakfast, but give it a go some weekend when you have time.

For both lunch and dinner, soups and salads are excellent for packing in the veggies (remember variety is key too!) I get tired of plain old lettuce salads (I am not a dressing person so they tend to get kind of monotonous) but I am loving making mixed veggie ‘salads’ lately.

IMG_7690

Lastly, snacks and dessert. Obviously these don’t usually contribute much to the days nutrients, but if you find yourself falling short, they are another way to get some veggies in without feeling deprived of goodies too.

This is the perfect season for veggie packed desserts to, think pumpkin pie, pumpkin cookies, carrot cake etc.

Here’s a few dessert recipes to get you started:

Chocolate Beet Cake, Crustless Pumpkin Pie (I have made this many times and love it!), Pumpkin Cookies, Sweet Potato Muffins, Pumpkin Custard or Pie, Pumpkin Bread Pudding

Happy Vegetable Eating!

-K

