Vegan Mofo

A while back I was lucky enough to win a box of Simply Bars from Ricki of Diet, Dessert, and Dogs. This was the first contest I’d ever won, and I was so happy to win a box of these bars – I love having things that I can stow away in my purse in case I get hungry, but nutritionally sound food bars can be expensive! I’ve finally tried all five flavours that came in my generous sample box (15 bars! wow!), so I thought I’d share my thoughts.

IMG_1792

First off, the flavours are AMAZING – Cinnamon Raisin, Lemon Coconut, Cocoa Peanut Butter, Cocoa Coffee, and Cocoa Raspberry – the ingredients are high quality (often organic), and each flavour is better than the next. If I had to choose, I would say that I especially enjoyed the Cocoa Raspberry, as there was tonnes of berry flavour.

The base of the bar is a soy crisp/agave nectar/brown rice syrup blend, which means that the bars are specifically vegan (hooray!), high in protein, and reasonably low in calories. I’m not one for watching protein content, but I DO appreciate that one of these bars keeps me full for a couple hours. The taste of the soy crisp base is reminiscent of those soy nuts that used to be (still are?) popular. I have to admit I wasn’t too keen on the underlying flavour of the crisps themselves, although the delicious added ingredients of each bar did a pretty good job of masking the flavour. And, for a chewy, low calorie bar, I think this is a fair trade off. Something else I really love is that each bar has 20% of your RDI of iron. I know, as a woman, I try to be particularly aware of my iron intake. I had blood drawn a couple years ago and learned that although my iron levels were normal, I had very low stores (I think this actually makes sense for veg*ns, since plant based iron is only absorbed if we need it), so I’m pretty careful about making sure I eat iron rich foods every day.

I know I’ve seen Simply Bars in my local grocery stores in Ontario, but I’m not sure if they are available in the states or even in every province. If you do see them, definitely check them, as they’re a great alternative to the standard fruit and nut bar!

If you haven’t already, be sure to enter our Crazy Rumours Lip Balm giveaway!

-Eve

