Brownie Ice Cream

Boy have I been a bad MoFo blogger as of late. Apparently performing plus school = failing at blogging. Anyways, I am back on the wagon and hopefully won’t fall off again. To attempt to help remedy the situation I present you with a yummy (albeit not terribly seasonal) recipe from my summer ice cream adventures. This particular recipe uses my previously posted brownie recipe. I would say of my various experiments, this ice cream had the best scoopability out of freezer factor. The secret? Cashews. I think the fat from the nuts helps to keep the ice cream softer longer but after an overnight stay in the freezer it certainly doesn’t have the same consistency as commercial ice cream.

Anyways, onto the good stuff.

Brownie Chunk Ice Cream

1 cup cashews

1 cup soymilk

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

6 tablespoons agave nectar

1/4 brownie recipe, baked and cut into small chunks (or substitute 1/4 of any brownie recipe for an 8×8″ pan)

For best results soak cashews overnight or for several hours. Drain and combine in blender with soymilk. Blend until smooth. Stir in vanilla and agave. Pour into ice cream maker and follow directions for your machine. Once the ice cream is nearly done (the consistency of soft serve) add the brownie chunks. Or if you want them to be less broken up. Stir them in after removing the ice cream from the machine.

Freeze for a few hours to reach the ideal consistency. Enjoy! (perhaps with a brownie on the side? :))

-K

