Well that was a fairly lackluster finale to Mofo… I fully intented to post this yesterday, however school deadlines trump blogging. Regardless, here is the pumpkin pie recipe from my Thanksgiving post. I do hope you enjoy it! šŸ™‚

crustless pumpkin pie

Growing up, my parents were pretty big on servingĀ my brothers and IĀ healthy food. That meant desserts with no added sugar, carob instead of chocolate (seriously, I didn’t even know that it wasn’t ‘real’ chocolate for years! – I am sure birthday cakes were a bit of a shocker for ‘normal’ kids at our parties! ;)) and the like. Gradually as we got older, more typical food was integrated but some things stuck- my moms pumpkin pie for example. I think it’s far superior to most other pumpkin pies but alas, the recipe isn’t vegan. The past few years I have opted for Susan’s crustless pumpkin pie which is also fantastic, but this year I thought I would do one better and merge the two recipes. This here is a gluten-free, crustless, vegan, sugar-free pumpkin pie~ And yes, it tastes pretty good if I do say so myself.

IMG_7323

Sugar-Free Pumpkin Pie

3 tablespoons frozen apple juice concentrate (the concentrate, don’t add any water)

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1 tablespoon egg replacer

1/4 cup water

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup pumpkin puree

3/4 cup sweet potato puree

5 tablespoons pineapple juiceĀ concentrate

3 tablespoons apple juice concentrate

1/2 cup rice flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 cup soymilk

Preheat your oven to 350F and grease a 9″ pie plate, preferably one that is fairly deep.

Combine apple juice, cornstarch, egg replacer and water in bowl. Mix well, so there are no lumps of powder. Add the remaining ingredients and stir well. If you wish you can do this in a blender to ensure a very smooth batter, however both my purees had already been blended so I didn’t feel the need to use the blender.

Pour into pie plate and bake for about an hour. The edges will have begun to pull away from the side of the dish.

Allow to cool. Serve and enjoy!

(The pie pictured above, is a veganized version of the original recipe, in a crust)

Also, head on over to check out Zesty’s contest for a blog makeover (well, maybe not, cause I want to win! :))

-K

