I’ve seen a few takes on raw cauliflower based ‘rice’, so I picked up a head of cauliflower at the grocery store so that I could try it myself. Although it’s not going to fool anyone into thinking it’s rice, it also doesn’t feel like you’re chowing through a  bunch of raw cruciferous veggies. Sometimes I find that a whole plate of raw vegetables tires my jaw out – raw jaw, if you will!

I was quite pleased with how this turned out. Since you use a food processor (or a dry blade vitamix container, in my case) to mince the cauliflower and carrot, it all comes together really quickly – like most raw food, I suppose!

IMG_2136

Please ignore the goofy shadows – it gets dark out at 5:30 (ugh!) these days, and I clearly have not figured out how to avoid blatantly after-dark photos.

Raw Sundried Tomato Cream Sauce

-1/4 c. sundried tomatoes
-1/4 c. almonds (if you’re not using a powerful blender, soaking might be a good plan)
-half a medium tomato
-small clove garlic
-1 tbsp. lemon juice
-1 tbsp. flax oil (or olive, I suppose)
-1/2 tsp. agave
-black pepper to taste
-enough water to reach a sauce consistency. I used around 12 tbsp – use some of the water from soaking the sundried tomatoes to add salt

Place everything in blender and whiz up.

Raw Rice

-1/2 head cauliflower, including stems
-1 small carrot
-2 tbsp. very finely minced onion
-1 clove garlic, minced
-1 tbsp. lemon juice
-1/2 tbsp. tamari (or braggs to keep it raw)
-1 tsp dried basil (or fresh if you’ve got it!)
-lots of black pepper

In a food processor, mince the cauliflower and carrot until it forms very small pieces. Dump into a mixing bowl, add everything else, and stir to combine.

Cut one large aesthetically pleasing green (or red!) pepper in half and stuff with the rice. You’ll have some rice leftover, so stuff another pepper half or stick it in a lettuce leaf tomorrow. Serve with lots of sundried tomato sauce and some pine nuts, if desired. Yum!

-Eve

