For the past few years, we have taken to sending a package of homemade cookies out to some of my elderly relatives. We figured it gives them a reason to invite people over and takes away all the work associated with baking a bunch of cookies. Its a tradition I have come to enjoy, as they live far enough away that we don’t  see them very often and they are distant enough (great aunt and uncle) that we don’t exchange gifts, to let them know we are thinking of them. As an added bonus, I get to bake up a bunch of cookies and not have to worry about them sitting around. Truly a win-win situation. 🙂

The package has just been sent out, so prepare for a bit of a cookie overload in my next few posts because it has been all cookies all the time around here lately!

 

First up, some pretend-healthy cookies (figured we should start out kind of good anyways! ;)) filled with oatmeal and dried fruit. I love the festivity of the jewel tones (although I do wish there was some green thing I could dump in there that doesn’t involve creepily coloured maraschino cherries) and their chewy texture, definitely makes them irresistable. In fact, there were quite a few less in the package sent off than I originally made! 😉 Lets just say these were well-tested ok?

Jeweled Fruit Almond Oatmeal Cookies

1 1/2 cups spelt flour (I used a combination of spelt and sorghum)

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup Earth Balance

1/2 cup applesauce

1/2 cup brown sugar (not packed)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 tablespoon ground flax

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon almond extract

2 cups rolled oats (I used quick cooking oats because that’s what I had on hand, it might require a bit less if you are using old-fashioned oats)

1/2 cup each of dried-sweetened cranberries and blueberries

3/4 cup blanched sliced almonds

Preheat oven to 350F.

Mix flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and baking soda in a small bowl. Set aside.

Combine Earth Balance, applesauce, and sugars in a medium sized bowl. Mix well. Stir in flax and extracts. Add flour mixture and combine fully. Stir in rolled oats, cranberries, blueberries and almonds.

Scoop out tablespoon sized spoonfuls and drop onto cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes. Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Enjoy! 🙂

Lastly, I have a bit of a favour to ask. My great-uncle is diabetic so each year we try to include some goodies that are diabetic-friendly however this year I tried to make it all vegan and I have had a really hard time finding vegan, diabetic-friendly recipes. Anybody know of any, or can point me to where I can find some? Thanks!

-K

