I’ve been intending to try making chia seed pudding for forever now (since it’s all over the blogsphere!), and I finally got around to it! Last night, I mixed up 1 cup of unsweetened soy milk with 1/4 cup of chia seeds. At the time, I was pretty sure I might have added too much liquid, but this morning I had this:

Crazy! The chia seeds swelled up SO much, and sortof reminded me of a really soft bread dough. The full 1/4 cup of chia seeds would have made way too big a breakfast for me, so I divided it into half, and to one bowl added:

-1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
-1 tsp. cinnamon
-pinch nutmeg
-2 tsp. maple syrup
-small handful of raisins

Now, I try not to worry too much about the nutritional content of my food. I like healthy food, and I eat lots (and lots) of it. However, chia seeds are RIDICULOUSLY nutritious, and just for fun, I calculated some of the numbers of the goo in my bowl before I stirred in any additions.

1/8 c. (2 tbsp.) of chia seeds + 1/2 c. unsweetened soy milk (Silk), which swelled to make a large enough breakfast for me, has:

-100 calories
-5.5 grams fibre
-5.5 grams protein
-2.6 grams of omega 3 fatty acids
-67% RDI of selenium
-23% RDI of magnesium
-23% RDI calcium
-11% RDI iron

Obviously, raisins and maple syrup would add extra calories, fibre, iron, and calcium, etc. Aren’t chia seeds impressive!?

They made a great breakfast, too! 🙂

-Eve

