Being the holiday dork that I am, I really wanted to have some cookies that smell and taste like Christmas. Eggnog is one of those flavours, even though I don’t really like it much myself, so I wanted to channel it in a cookie. I think I did it with these ones. Madame eggnog-hater managed to choke down an embarrasing amount of these! 😉 (The second batch was purely for recipe-testing purposes- thats my story, and I’m sticking to it) Eve had a great suggestion for even more eggnoggy goodness: substitute the soymilk and some of the maple syrup for a commercially prepared (or homemade) soynog. Sounds fantastic to me, although I think I will leave it up to some of you to try, and give my waistline a break. 🙂

Eggnog Crinkle Cookies (Adapted from 5 Spice Cookies in Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan)

1 1/4 cups barley flour

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/3 cup (scant) maple syrup

1/4 cup (scant) canola oil

1/8 cup soymilk

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Additional sugar for sprinkling on top.

Preheat oven to 350F.

Mix all flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a bowl. Stir to combine.

Combine maple syrup, canola oil, soymilk, and vanilla extract in a separate bowl. Mix. Pour into dry ingredients and stir to combine.

Roll out tablespoon sized balls of dough and place on cookie sheet. Lightly flatten. (they don’t spread much in the oven) Sprinkle tops with sugar. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool for a minute before transferring off of cookie sheet.

These are great warm from the oven, and cold, but do give them a few minutes to cool if you opt for the straight-out-of oven method, the insides are awfully hot (not that I speak from experience or anything…)

-K

