I have several idiosyncrasies, (don’t we all) one of which involves cookies. I like them to be perfectly shaped, all uniform throughout the batch, ready to grace the pages of a baking magazine. This means that I often overlook drop cookie recipes and scorn those than include large chunks that may lead to misshapen cookies, all for the goal of that ‘perfect’ plate of cookies. This recipe would normally fall into one, or both, of the above categories, but the original recipe sounded like such a unique flavour combination and I was running out of cookie recipes that I wanted to try, so I gave it a shot. I think that I might need to get over my prejudice and embrace the ‘rustic’ organic homey look of drop cookies, because these were pretty darn tasty! 

Almond Fig Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (adapted from this recipe)

1/2 cup Earth Balance

1/2 cup applesauce

1/2 cup brown sugar (not packed)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

4 tablespoons soymilk

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 1/4 cups spelt flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon each of ground cinnamon and ginger

3/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup sliced blanched almonds

1/3 cup finely diced dried figs

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease cookie sheet.

Combine Earth Balance, applesauce, sugars, soymilk, and vanilla extract together in a bowl. Mix thoroughly. Add flour, baking soda and spices. Stir until fully incorporated. Add oats, chocolate chips, nuts, and figs to dough, stir in. Scoop spoonfuls of dough onto cookie sheet and flatten (cookies don’t spread while baking). Bake for 13 minutes, or until golden.

-K

