Its become a bit of a holiday tradition to take creature holiday photos on Christmas morning before any gifts get opened. I love going back and looking over the collection I have amassed over the years, so I thought I might share a few here in the days leading up to the big day. In previous years it has been quite the production with seven critters to keep track of, and of course, there has to be a group photo!

Sorry, what’s that you say? You’re here for cookies, not festive bunny portraits? Well harrumph. I thought he looked pretty darn spiffy.  Okay, onto the edibles! 🙂

 

 

I love chai and had the great idea to use chai spices instead of just cinnamon for a twist on the snickerdoodle, however I found out that I had already been beat to it by the ever-talented Celine. Her recipe made them chocolate as well, which I decided to forego this round as I really wanted them to still essentially be snickerdoodles, but I am sure her chocolate version is darn tasty too (as you can always expect from her recipes). Now go forth and bulk up your cookie jar, you never know when unexpected visitors will drop by!

Chai Spiced Snickerdoodles (adapted from this recipe)

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon each of ground cinnamon, ginger, and cardamom

1/8 teaspoon allspice

1/4 cup Earth Balance

1 Ener G Egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

3/4 cup spelt flour

3/8 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease cookie sheet.

Mix sugar and spices in a small bowl. Reserve 2 tablespoons. Beat earth balance, Ener G egg, and vanilla extract together in a separate bowl. Mix in sugar-spice mixture, except the reserved portion. Add flour and baking powder, stir to combine. Scoop out tablespoons of dough, roll into balls and roll in reserved sugar and spices. Place on cookie sheet and flatten tops slightly.

Bake for 13 minutes.

-K

