I came across this recipe the other day and was incredibly pleased to find that I had pretty much all the required ingredients. It always makes me happy when a recipe doesn’t require a trip to get groceries or some convoluted ingredient substitution, but being the person I am, I couldn’t just make the recipe as-is (I have found this to be my downfall in cookbook testing, I am always wanting to ‘tweak’ things here and there) so I am posting my altered recipe here which I thought was quite good, so much so that I remade it again with the addition of cauliflower (about half a medium sized head of cauliflower, chopped, and steamed added to the whole recipe)

Curried Red Lentil Stew (adapted from Gourmet)

1 onion, diced

2 tsp ground ginger

4 cloves of garlic, minced

5 1/3 cups water

1 1/2 tsp curry powder

3/4 tsp ground turmeric

1/2 tsp ground cumin

2 cups red lentils

3 medium carrots, diced

3 cups chopped spinach leaves (or more if you like, I just kept adding it until the pot seemed nice and green)

Saute onion in a bit of water until golden brown, add ginger, garlic, and 1/3 cup water. Continue cooking until the water is mostly evaporated. Add curry powder, turmeric and cumin, stir until fully incorporated.

Add 5 cups water and lentils and simmer, partially covered for about 30 minutes, until lentils are mostly cooked. Add carrots and simmer until carrots are cooked through, about 15 minutes.  Stir in spinach and cook until wilted.

Remove from heat and serve over a bed of rice (or don’t, I have been eating the cauliflower version like soup and it’s a-ok like that too).

In light of recent world events please consider helping in any way you can (if you haven’t already done so). These people have much more real issues that what to huck into their new VitaMix for supper, and lack the ability to deal with this kind of tragedy. For fellow Canucks, the government has pledged to match Canadian donations to charitable organizations, so know that your money is being doubled! Here are a couple things to consider if you are looking for ways you can help:

MarathonVal’s Dress Down Day

Red Cross

Doctors Without Borders

Or check out the comments on Pioneer Womans post for more ideas

-K

