Like what the title says. I wish I had written down more of a recipe for these, but I’ll give you the general gist, since both these meals turned out really yummy.

Black bean, sweet potato, and corn something (chili?) with quinoa:

I used to lovelovelove chili, but then I met a can of kidney beans that (really!) didn’t agree with me, so I’ve been scared off of a) kidney beans and b) chili for over a year now. Anyhow, I wouldn’t call this a chili precisely, anyways.

This was flavoured with lots of garlic and onions, a little bit of chili powder, cumin, and plenty of chipotles in adobo. I read this tip on another blog (I can’t remember where!), and it’s awesome: when you open a can of chipotles in adobo sauce, fish out all the chilis, seed (if desired) and mince them, stir them back into the can of sauce, then divide the paste up into an ice cube tray, freeze, and then store the cubes in the freezer for later use. The cheeze on top is Sheese, and it’s one of the best vegan cheezes I’ve tried, taste wise. It doesn’t really melt (although it does do better than what it looks like in that picture), but it’s really tasty. For melting, Teese is definitely the best I’ve tried. I can’t wait to get my hands on Daiya!

This is cauliflower and tempeh curry (a rather inspired combination, if I do say so myself), with some stirred in millet. See how creamy it looks? If you ever want to perk up a curry, add a big glob of peanut butter, and let some raisins simmer in it so that they plump up. Peanut butter + raisins = very yummy curry.

At this point you’re probably all “Millet with curry? Quinoa with something that may or may not resemble chili?? Has this girl never heard of rice?” Something I’ve learned, eating gluten free:  if you don’t want to turn into a grain of rice, you really need to embrace the weird and wonderful grains that don’t get a tonne of love in the average person’s diet.  Plus, millet is really good! And cheap! What more could you ask for? Of course, if you’re reading this blog, you’re probably an old hand at this whole alternative foods thing, right? Varied diets = happy, healthy vegans. 🙂

And finally, a rather successful rendition of a gluten free chocolate chip cookie from Mary of Mitten Machen. Although mine didn’t spread out as nicely as her’s did, I think her recipe is definitely worth trying out! The taste and texture were very good.

Have a good weekend, everyone! 🙂

-Eve

