I’m on a quest for the perfect gluten free vegan brownie. If you had suggested to me a month ago that such a thing were even possible, I would have laughed at you. (but um, in a nice way.) BUT, I have since had a perfect gluten free brownies. (From Fresh, if anyone’s interested.) The brownie in question was dense, fudgey, and totally decadent – I never would have guessed that it was gluten free.

So, for my first attempt, I used this recipe. Apparently, it appeared in Food and Wine magazine, and the article online leads me to believe the recipe is from Babycakes NYC. In any case, it looked promising.

Aren’t they cute?

My results were definitely tasty. (If anyone is interested, my 1/2 c. + 2 tbsp. flour mix consisted of 1/4 c. + 2 tbsp. sorghum, 2 tbsp. corn flour, 1 tbsp. arrowroot, and 1 tbsp. besan) Although they didn’t taste gluten free (hooray!), I found that they were more cakey than fudgey. They were very moist (a good thing!), but also, very tender, and almost fluffy -not particularly brownie like. In addition, (and it pains me to write this), they tasted vegan. I think brownies are definitely something where vegetable oil just won’t cut it. If I were to make these again, I think I might make these adjustments:

-addition of walnuts chunks, and higher quality chocolate chips
-less leavening
-maybe a tiny bit more xanthan gum, although I would start to be afraid of heading into ‘squidgy’ territory
-melted vegan butter in place of vegetable oil
-perhaps a couple of teaspoons of dried coffee

Any other suggestions? Has anyone found (or developed??) a good recipe for GF vegan brownies? I would love to hear! 🙂

-Eve

