This is my take on Angela’s take on Ricki’s original recipe (got that!?) Love all the nutritional goodness packed into it, in fact pretty much the only thing I don’t love is how small a portion is. I am a volume eater extraordinaire so despite the fact that this is a very nutrient dense brekkie, I want to eat the whole recipe, rather than 1/3, to fill my tum-tum. Just a note for fellow volume-eaters (anybody?).

I prefer this after it has spent some time in the fridge, as it becomes much thicker and pudding-like, but it’s still yummy straight out of the oven.

1/2 cup hazelnuts

1/2 cup sliced almonds

1/2 cup rolled oats (I used quick oats, they both used old-fashioned)

3/4 cup applesauce

1 Tbsp each of chia seeds and hempseed flour

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 1/4 cups soymilk, or other non-dairy milk

1/3 – 1/2 cup shredded coconut

frozen mango chunks

Preheat oven to 350F. Place all ingredients up to applesauce into blender and blend until smooth. Stir in coconut. Pour into 3 ramekins or a bread loaf pan and top with mango. I also think this would be great with the mango mixed throughout. Bake for 30 minutes, or until golden around the edges.

Enjoy!

-K

