Gluten-Be-Gone Homestyle Chocolate Chip Cookies from Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan! Pre-gluten free, I made the homestyle chocolate chip cookies from Vive Le Vegan on an embarrassingly regular basis. I still have the recipe memorized! (admittedly, it’s super simple)….

I’m not sure why it took me so long to get around to making Dreena’s gluten free version, because they are gooooood. And by that, I mean that they’re crunchy. To my mind, crunchy trumps chewy – sorry, chewy cookie folks. These are the first GF cookies I’ve made that have been even remotely crunchy, so I was very pleased. I bet if you baked them for less time, they’d turn out perfectly chewy, too. 🙂

If When I make these again, I might try a) reducing the sugar in them (woooooheeeeey are they sweeeeet! I froze them ASAP, so hopefully that will minimize any sugar-induced stomach aches), and b) use slightly less xanthan gum, as they were on the verge of being a little squidgey. I keep talking about the squidgey-ness off xanthan gum, am I nuts? I swear I think I know what I’m talking about……

Eve

