I know, I know, cut it out with the dorky titles. I can’t help it though, overly commercialized holidays seem to bring out the worst in me. Want more proof? See, previous post, and this one from last year. Rest assured, this latest bout should be over come Monday.

Post naming issues aside, I had great plans for making a whole days worth of Valentine’s themed foods, alas, that didn’t happen. Between my well-honed procrastination skills, several recipe failures, and this annoying thing called life, it seems that I only came up with a couple of blog-worthy culinary delights. This being one of them. My goal was to come up with a delicious fat-free, sugar-free, gluten-free, somewhat decadent breakfast muffin and while this latest version was close, it still isn’t what I would consider ideal. But my biggest gripe, them not rising enough, isn’t enough to keep me from sharing them.

Cocoa-Coconut Raspberry Muffins

3/4 cup soymilk (I used plain, which does have sweetener in it, but if you want truly sugar-free, go with unsweetened)

1/2 teaspoon vinegar

1/4 cup oat flour

1/4 cup sorghum flour

1/4 cup coconut flour

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking powder

2 tablespoons applesauce

2 tablespoons canola oil (you can replace this with applesauce if you want a truly fat free muffin, but do know that they will likely dry out faster)

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon almond extract

15-25 drops vanilla flavoured stevia (to taste, if using plain stevia, increase vanilla extract to 1/2 teaspoon)

1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1/2 cup frozen or fresh raspberries (if using frozen, keep them frozen right until you add them to other ingredients)

Preheat oven to 375F. Combine soymilk and vinegar, stir and set aside to curdle. Combine flours, baking powder and cocoa in a bowl. Stir to combine. Add wet ingredients and stir. Fold in raspberries and shredded coconut until fully incorporated. Divide into six muffin tins (or silicone muffin cups like I used-no greasing required!) and bake for 25-30 minutes or until a knife or toothpick inserted in the centre of a muffin comes out clean.

-K

