Another wrap-up of weekly eats:

Breakfast pudding! This is a delicious and nutritious way to start your day! Quinoa, pineapple, raspberries, walnuts, and soymilk. I based it off of this recipe from Bobs Red Mill but to make it more breakfast appropriate I ditched the sugar, cornstarch and yogurt (although you could add the yogurt if you have it, makes it nice and creamy). The recipe makes lots too, so you have several breakfasts worth.

My beans, lentils and grains are stored in glass jars in my kitchen and the full jar of mung beans purchased on a whim quite some time ago has been sitting, untouched, since then. I have never used mung beans and didn’t know what to use them in or where to start, so I just avoided them, that is until now. Enter Kitcheree from The Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen, when I spotted the recipe and noted that I had most of the ingredients on hand, I popped into the kitchen and got started. This recipe makes a lot!! I found it to be a bit lacking in the spice department, but I am sure that is due to my ‘make due’ efforts with the spices I had, rather than the recipe.

Sundried Tomato Soup. Yes this was one of my Valentines Day recipe attempts. Alas, it tasted fairly remensicent of pasta sauce, so no recipe. I ate it up like a champ though and it did mix very well with chickpeas and nutritional yeast!

In other, non food, news, the show we did over Valentines weekend had young ballet students in it. They are so sweet and gave us all little gifts and wanted us to sign the programs etc. I love being a part of that dream for them but I don’t really feel qualified yet, I still feel like the starry eyed kid!

Regardless of the fact that winter, and thus the need for a winter coat, is basically over (or so the calendar says) I have started working on sewing up a winter coat. Since all the vegan ones I have seen cost money are way out of my price range, I decided it would be much better to just make my own. We’ll see how it goes…

 

Hope you are all enjoying watching the Olympics as much as I am. Eve and I have been having nightly Gmail chats while we are both watching the figure skating! So much fun! 🙂

-K

