For years I ate the same thing for breakfast every morning; rolled oats with raisins and milk (or soymilk as the years went by), well actually more like raisins with some oats and milk but I digress. I am apparently fairly easily influenced by others though, and lately have been switching it out for various versions of cooked oatmeal. All the various delicious looking blogger breakfasts combined with the cooler mornings of winter swayed me. Here is my latest creation:

Chia Jam Oats

2/3 cup quick cooking oats

1 tablespoon chia seeds

1/3 cup plain soymilk (or other nondairy milk)

1 cup water

pinch nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

2 tablespoons jam

Mix all ingredients but jam in a pot. Stir well to combine. Bring to a boil and cook until oats have fully absorbed liquid. Transfer to a bowl and top with jam.

I have also been busily testing away for Celine and Joni’s new cookbook. Can I just say that Celine is the nicest person ever! I’m sure Joni is too, however I haven’t had too much contact with her, but every correspondance I have had with Celine, she has been super kind, and funny to boot!

Tasty Carrot muffins:

Gluten-free cupcakes (that stayed fresh and moist for an impressively long time!):

Kablooey salad (I may or may not have made this entirely because of the name! ;)):

Mixed Grain Salad:

-K

