I’m lucky in that I live within walking distance to an awesome small natural foods store that has great prices on organic produce. However, the nearest ‘real’ grocery store is so far away that I try to put off going until my boyfriend is in town, since he has a car and is awesome about driving me to the store. (shopping + bus = no fun). Anyways, it had been a while (2 months!) since he has been able to get away from school to come visit, and I was kind of doing an inadvertent pantry challenge, because I was running out of everything! He’s here for the week during his spring break, and we’ve since gone shopping. Everywhere I look I see things that I haven’t had in my kitchen for weeks and weeks – canned tomatoes, cinnamon, curry powder, vanilla extract, lentils, split peas, hot sauce, ketchup… I could go on, but you catch my drift. Anyways, a couple extremely tasty meals we’ve had recently:

Vegetable (cauliflower, peas, carrots) and red lentil curry over brown basmati rice:

Pizza!!!! With gluten free crust! And daiya! I snapped a picture of cold leftover pizza, so the cheeze doesn’t look as melty as it was when it was fresh out of the oven.

Seriously, I haven’t had pizza this good in aaaages. My boyfriend ordered the daiya (along with some other tasty treats!) from Vegan Essentials before he came up from the states to visit, so I finally got to try it! It is SO good! I usually hate the taste of vegan mozzarella, but after the first few bites of this, I thought it tasted pretty much exactly like dairy cheese. I wasn’t head over heels with the texture (but it stretches!), but I can’t say I ever really liked the texture of dairy pizza cheese either so I’m probably not the best judge of that. However, on top of a pizza with all sorts of great vegetarian fixings, it was pretty awesome.

The crust is Bob’s Red Mill GF pizza crust mix, made with the flax seed option. The texture was very impressive, and the taste was quite good, especially when I made it a bit thinner. I see far fewer tortilla ‘crust’ pizzas in my future…..

-Eve

