After close to two years of being vegan, I am quite comfortable whipping up all sorts of things to eat, including many baked goods (although, nothing that requires a lot of eggs to replace *cough* meringue *cough*) and will readily substitute ingredients here and there without much concern for adverse effects on the final product. The land of gluten-free vegan baking, however, seems quite inhospitable in comparison. Recipes must be followed religiously lest some vital ingredient be excluded and the whole thing turn out an inedible disaster. So it was with great trepidation that I embarked on a gluten-free vegan birthday cake a few months ago (yes, I have been meaning to post about it since then, but the pictures were in my dear fathers hands and I only just received them). In fact, there were several times in my search for recipes, with the deadline looming, that I nearly gave it all up, but I persevered so all present could partake in the same dessert. Fortunately, with the wonder of the internet and the generosity of several, much more skilled than I, bloggers who post their successful recipes online, the cake was a veritable success, eliciting praise from those who could have consumed an egg, dairy, and gluten laden treat. So without further ado, I present to you the success of a Gluten-Free, Vegan Black Forest Cake! (Sorry about the picture quality, this is back from the winter days of minimal hours for appropriate light to take good blog-photos)

Gluten-Free Black Forest Cake:

1 recipe of Ricki’s coconut whipped cream (I used that recipe, but she has a new and improved version in her cookbook Sweet Freedom)

2 recipes of Karina’s Mexican chocolate cake (I left out the cinnamon and substituted a bit of concentrated tart cherry juice for some of the liquid)

1 can of cherry pie filling (I didn’t actually end up using a full can; you could also go for all homemade and make some yourself, which I was intending on doing, but this project was already taking far longer than I had intended so I had to take the easy route)

Additional chocolate shavings (optional)

Prepare the whipped cream in advance so it has time to go through the chilling process before you need to assemble the cake. Prepare and bake the cakes. Allow to cool. Place one cake on a plate, cover with pie filling. I spread whipped cream on the bottom of the second cake and then placed it on top (so the pie filling and whipped cream were placed together) but there is probably an easier method of doing that. Cover the sides and top of the cake with whipped cream and sprinkle with chocolate, if desired. Enjoy and marvel at the wonders of gluten-free vegan baking! 🙂

-K

