I can’t believe that March is almost over! Spring is here! In celebration of all of that, here is a bunch of green for you! 🙂

First up, a really thick green monster. I made this with frozen spinach so it was nice and thick; I ate it like ice cream, which was a nice change from my usual mode of ingestion. I found this new spinach product that I really like:

 The spinach is segmented into one cup chunks which is really convenient, and I’ve found it’s way cheaper to buy it this way than using up half a $3 bag of fresh spinach in one green smoothie. 

Secondly, zucchini muffins! I have been wanting to try making a completely naturally sweetened muffin. I actually made these for St. Patrick’s day, but the first version didn’t work out quite as nicely as I had hoped. This version turned out better (i.e. cooked all the way through) although there are still some things I would like to tweak I think it didn’t turn out half bad for a sugar-free, fat-free, wheat-free muffin. 

Date Sweetened Zucchini Oat Muffins

1/2 cup dates (I use baking dates, no need to use fancy medjool or anything for this recipe, save those for snacking!)

1/2 cup boiling water

3 tablespoons ground flax seeds

1/2 cup applesauce

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon vinegar

15-20 drops stevia (I used vanilla creme flavoured)

1 cup oat flour (I just ground up some oats in the blender to make this)

1/2 cup spelt flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

2 cups grated zucchini

Preheat oven to 325F. Lightly grease muffin tins, if using.

Combine dates and water in a small bowl and allow to sit for 30 minutes or until water has begun to cool and dates are softened (I usually just put them together the night before). Combine dates and water, flax, applesauce, vanilla, vinegar and stevia in food processor and process until smooth. Meanwhile, combine dry ingredients (all remaining except zucchini) in a medium-sized bowl. Add in food processor contents and zucchini and stir to combine. Spoon into muffin cups, filling them right up to the top of the muffin cup. Doing that gave me about 11 muffins (lame number I know!).

Place in oven and bake for 30-40 minutes, or until a knife, or toothpick, inserted in the centre of one comes out clean. Be warned that the dates make these muffins bake up quite dark, this doesn’t necessarily mean they are cooked through. Check the middle!!

Enjoy! 🙂

And lastly some pretty green mossy waterfalls for you.

Hopefully it is nice enough where you live for you to get out over the weekend and enjoy the early spring weather! 🙂

-K

