I’m in a food rut. I haven’t made a new cookbook recipe for weeks and weeks, and I certainly haven’t been creating exciting new recipes of my own. That being said, my food rut is full of tasty foods, so I’m really not complaining (much). In no particular order, here are some things that have been making repeat appearances in my eats over the last couple of weeks.

1) Ants of a log.

Justin Timberlake can handle sexy, and I’ll bring back ants on a log. This snack is pretty much a daily occurrence.

2) Avocados. Last week I scored four perfectly ripe, enormous and delicious organic avocados for 69 cents apiece, so I’ve been chowing down on them pretty regularly! I can’t believe that only a couple years ago, I despised them, because now they’re definitely one of my favourite things to eat! The little grocery store I live close to has SUCH good prices on organic produce – I’m really going to miss it once I move out west in…..5 weeks. Eeek!)

Here they make an appearance as guacomole in raw tacos, with a walnut/red pepper pate-ish filling, and carrot stick on the side (because I’m vegan, and I eat carrot sticks):
And on top of snobby joes (V’con) and brown rice fusili. Tasty, but then  I went back for seconds and subsequently felt like I had eaten a brick. Portion control is not my strong suit.
3) Steel cut oats. I’m pretty sure pictures of oatmeal don’t make for scintillating blog content, so I’ll spare you. But seriously, steel cut oats are amazing! I always have a smoothie for breakfast, so lunch and supper oats have been occurring regularly.

4) Apples. See above for reasoning on lack of pictures. For the longest time, I hated apples,  and then I had braces and avoided eating them because by the time I managed to shave off a complete circle around the apple with my brace-festooned teeth, the first of my awkward nibbles were already turning brown. Thankfully, I am now brace-free and making up for lost time from my apple-hating days. SO juicy and good!

5) Almond butter, specifically:
https://i0.wp.com/www.worldpantry.com/nspired/maranatha/img/thumb/nsp-mnb092500.jpg

Raw almond butter is a bit of a splurge, but I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to return to roasted. Roasted almond butter is definitely good, but raw almond butter is so mild and sweet that it nearly rivals peanut butter in sheer tastiness. I’m totally enamored.

So, my goal for this week is to make at least one new recipe from a cookbook. Totally do-able, right? With my recent track record, we can only hope! I’ll keep you posted! 🙂
-Eve

