Growing up, my family was not particularly adventurous with regards to culinary creations. Meat, potatoes and veggies were the mainstay, and I can’t recall very many, if any at all, ethnic foods gracing our table until I turned vegetarian, which started the ball rolling towards a more expanded food repertoire. Thus, things like hummus now make regular appearances on the table. This particular variety is one that my mom makes frequently; I’m not actually sure what her recipe is but this tasted close enough for me. I quite like the green hue, but it might put others off, rest assured, it’s very tasty! 🙂

Spinach Tomato Hummus

2 cups cooked chickpeas

2 cups baby spinach

4-6 tablespoons oil packed sun-dried tomatoes, drained

1 tablespoon oil from sun-dried tomatoes

1 tablespoon lemon juice

Place all ingredients in food processor and blend until smooth and creamy. I like to taste test and see if I want to add additional sun-dried tomatoes for flavour.

-K

