Well we certainly have been slowing down the internet with our frequent posting around here! ūüėČ There have definitely been exciting things occuring around these parts, however apparently blogging about it has taken¬†a back seat.¬†

I happened¬†upon this recipe¬†¬†from Gourmet a while back and had been meaning to make it but fresh mint isn’t something that frequents my kitchen.¬†Yesterday’s¬†shopping haul¬†yielded a large bunch (along with some reduced price basil-pesto here¬†I come!!) so I got myself into the kitchen to whip it up and was quite impressed with the result. I didn’t make too many changes from the original recipe but I have posted my version below. This would make fantastic summer picnic food and aside from the fiddly business with steaming the quinoa, is quite a simple recipe to put together.

1 cup red quinoa

zest and juice of one lemon

4 drops stevia, or to taste

4 sprigs of mint, minced (I ended up with about 4 tablespoons of minced mint)

1/4 small onion, diced

3 cups corn kernels (I used frozen, but I bet fresh would be amazing here as well)

Place quinoa in a pot with 2 cups of boiling water. Cook for about ten minutes, or until some of the tails have begun to emerge. Drain into a seive and refill the pot with water. Place the seive over the pot, top the quinoa with a tea towel and the pot lid and bring water to a boil. Steam the quinoa in this fashion for 10 or so more minutes, or until the remaining tails have emerged (I gave mine a stir midway). Remove your steaming contraption from heat and set it aside for a few more minutes. Mix the lemon zest and juice with stevia in your serving dish, add quinoa and stir to fully combine. Stir in corn, mint and onion.

 -K

