I don’t know about anyone else but it always seems like when I have something pressing to do (studying for exams) there are suddenly a million other things that I really should do (cleaning the bathroom-why yes, can’t wait another minute; emptying the dishwasher and meticulously drying everything-top of the priority list; baking banana bread-definitely wouldn’t want those bananas to spoil on the counter!) and so it was that I found myself absolutely having to do some baking in lieu of cramming, and Angela’s Cherry Coconut Banana Bread was just the ticket. Of course, I also have this problem with following recipes exactly, so I have posted my tweaked version below. The bread was delicious and I particularly liked the addition of the cherries although next time I think I would put them throughout the bread as I found having them only on the top a bit lacking.  

Cherry Coconut Banana Bread (Adapted from Oh She Glows)

1 3/4 cups spelt flour

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp each of ground ginger and nutmeg

1 Tbsp chia seeds

3 medium to large bananas (quite ripe)

5 Tbsp coconut milk

1/4 cup maple syrup

10-12 drops vanilla creme stevia (or to taste)

2 tsp vanilla extract

halved and pitted cherries, shredded coconut (for garnish, though I would suggest mixing the cherries into the batter)

Preheat oven to 325F.  Mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder, spices, and chia seeds in a medium sized bowl. Set aside. Mash banana, coconut milk, maple syrup, stevia, and vanilla in a small bowl until only small chunks of banana remain (or you can fully mash if you prefer). Stir banana mixture into the flour mixture to combine. If you are adding cherries into the batter, do so now. Pour into loaf pan and top with cherries and shredded coconut. Bake for approximately 1 hour or until browned and a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean. Remove from oven and use your willpower to allow loaf to cool before cutting and eating, or go for the burned mouth route like me! 😉

-K

