I know, I know, I’m not sure I am quite ready to accept the coming of fall yet either, but when apples go on sale, I buy them. With a bag of apples sitting in my crisper and a hankering for dessert, this recipe was concocted. I am not a big fan of the amount of oil that goes into the topping of most crisp recipes but previous attempts making low fat crisps have been decidedly uncrisplike. Enter my hero- peanut butter! Who doesn’t like the combination of apple and peanut butter? Thus this crisp has a peanut buttery topping (which I am sure others have done, but allow me to avoid google for the time being and bask in my creativity)

3 apples, diced (I used granny smith)

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

2 cups rolled oats (I liked it better when I made it with old fashioned)

1/4 – 1/2 cup brown sugar (taste for sweetness and adjust, I used 1/4 cup) or maple syrup (I used 1/4 cup maple syrup the second time I made this, however the crisp ended up softer, and remember to adjust your amount of milk accordingly for the increase in liquid)

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1/4 cup peanut butter

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

almond milk (I used about 1/4 cup)

Preheat your oven to 375F. Combine chopped apples and cinnamon in a small casserole dish. Stir oats, sugar and cinnamon together in a small bowl. Warm peanut butter to make it  runny, stir in vanilla extract. Stir peanut-vanilla mixture into oats. Add almond milk until the ingredients clump together. Top apples with crust mixture and cover. Bake for about 30 minutes (or until apples are soft), remove cover and bake for another 15 minutes or so to allow the oats to crisp up.

Serve, preferably with ice cream! 😉 I kept meaning to make up some banana soft serve to have with this, but it didn’t end up happening before the crisp was all gone.

I am submitting this to the September Sweet or Savory Challenge hosted by the lovely Ricki of Diet Dessert and Dogs and Kim of Affairs of Living.

-K

