One of the things I love about the vegan foodblog world is the introduction to recipes you never would have tried from just looking at it on paper (or screen). I also find that I discover recipes in cookbooks I have that I could have sworn didn’t exist in the cookbook. This was one such case. I have had Veganomicon for a while now and more frequently than I care to admit, hear about great recipes from it that I have never heard of before (despite my hobby of flipping through cookbooks when I am bored). I did some tweaking based on what I had on hand and came up with this, which was delicious stirred into oatmeal, as pictured, but I imagine it would also make a tasty dessert (spooned over vanilla ice cream mmmm..).

2 red pears, cored and sliced into bite sized chunks

1 medium sweet potato, sliced into bite sized chunks (peel if you like, or leave unpeeled if you are lazy like me for extra fibre)

3 tablespoons apple juice concentrate (the frozen stuff, don’t add water, just spoon it out of the can)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (I think cardamom would go nicely in this too)

1/2 cup dried cranberries

Preheat your oven to 350F. Mix all ingredients together, except cranberries,Β and toss so sweet potatoes and pears are well coated. Pour into 8 x 8″ pan and cover with tinfoil. Bake for 50 minutes to an hour, depending on the size of your sweet potato chunks, until potatoes are tender. Remove from oven and stir in cranberries. Serve.

I am also submitting this to this months SOS roundup featuring sweet potatoes.

-K

