Today is day one of Vegan MoFo 2009! Head on over here to see the list of all the blogs participating. There’s even a public RSS feed.

For my first post, I thought I’d talk about a cookbook that has just been released by the ultra talented Lauren Ulm of VeganYumYum.

https://i0.wp.com/www.twolia.com/blogs/livin-veg/files/2009/09/veganyumyum-300x300.jpg

VeganYumYum has long been one of my favourite blogs, and Vegan YumYum – the cookbook – does not disappoint. It includes some recipes that have appeared on the blog, as well as many, many new recipes. The first thing I noticed was how gorgeous this book is. Every recipe has an introduction and a photo, and everything is clearly laid out with lots of step-by-step photos where necessary. The book has 103 recipes, organized into ten sections: Breakfast and Brunch, Main Dishes, Appetizers, Salads, Side Dishes and Light Meals, Soups, Pasta, Desserts, Drinks, and Sauces/Dips/Spreads. Did I mention that every recipe has an introduction? So much thought and effort has been put into this book – I love reading about how the recipes were developed, and the little tips that she sprinkles throughout the book are fantastic. Everthing about Vegan Yum Yum shines with personality, and I am definitely loving paging through it!

Last night, I made the Hurry Up Alfredo Sauce from the pasta section, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although I made it from the cookbook, it is also available online! I used it on some brown rice spaghetti, and served it with a simple green salad. Totally delicious! FYI, I omitted the Earth Balance, soy sauce, and salt – and it was still plenty rich and salty enough for me.

IMG_1782

What a huge blob of saucy pasta! I am definitely looking forward to making more out of this cookbook! 🙂

Happy MoFo-ing, all!

-Eve