Hope all of our fellow Canucks had a great thanksgiving weekend!

Since we both wanted to take part in the survey for MoFo 2009, we figured it would be fun to do a joint post with both of our answers.

1. Favorite non-dairy milk?
E: Soy milk! In theory, almond milk, but I’m sort of over all the salt in Almond Breeze. I should really try making my own….

K: Soymilk, but thats really just because thats whats cheapest and most readily available.

2. What are the top 3 dishes/recipes you are planning to cook?

E: For MoFo? No idea! I do want to get back into using my cookbooks more, which will require a bit of planning. Hmm…

K: I don’t really have any specific plans other than flying by the seat of my pants! Not to worry, I am highly trained and experienced with that method! ; )

3. Topping of choice for popcorn?
E: Earth Balance and salt, and sometimes Old Bay!

K: Lately, homemade kettle corn has been my thing. Loving the sweet and salty!

4. Most disastrous recipe/meal failure?
E: Hmm, my most recent one involved a horrible slimy curried eggplant/avocado salad. Which I put in nori wraps. I don’t want to talk about it. It was baaaaad, and I don’t know what I was thinking. 😦

K: Oh gosh, it was epic! There was one of those recipes in an ad in Vegetarian Times a while back that was a squash soup that used some kind of bran cereal as a thickening agent. I used All Bran Buds since we had a package sitting in the cupboard uneaten (why this wasn’t a sign, I don’t know) and uh produced a wonderous mucilagenous substance. I am not one for wasting food at all, I have eaten many a failed experiment in my time, but this got maybe two mouthfuls before getting chucked.

5. Favorite pickled item?
E: Pickled ginger is pretty good. I have to say, though, I’m not generally the biggest fan of pickled things.

K: Not big on pickled stuff, so uh, those cute baby sweet pickles.

6. How do you organize your recipes?
E: In my recipe box? I’ve got it all split up into categories: soups, desserts, drinks, etc. I like pretend  to have some semblance of organization in my life, after all. 🙂

K: I don’t. This may be part of my problem with finding that recipe I ‘just saw a few days ago’…

7. Compost, trash, or garbage disposal?
E: Compost!

K: Compost all the way!

8. If you were stranded on an island and could only bring 3 foods…what would they be (don’t worry about how you’ll cook them)?
E:For the record, I fully plan to never be stranded on an island where I would only have 3 foods, alright? Although, if I had to choose, right now I’d go with tempeh, pineapple, and chocolate. But see, what about chickpeas? Or nectarines? Or edamame? Or pecans? Jeez, what a lame question!

K: Blast, I am terrible at these kind of decisions. Going with the practical: hemp seeds, spinach and tomatoes.

9. Fondest food memory from your childhood?
E: I have a vivid memory of my very young self being entirely happy while eating a banana. I’m pretty sure it had very little to do with the banana, though.

K: My proudest recollection is when I refused to eat some crab for supper that we had seen earlier in the day alive. I just couldn’t do it. This was years before I turned vegetarian and I am happy that I had a bit of it in me even back then.

10. Favorite vegan ice cream?
E:Either banana soft serve, or coconut milk vanilla by purely decadent. Don’t quote me on that though, I haven’t tried the chocolate yet!

K: Sadly I haven’t tried many different varieties at all. The brownie kind from purely decadent is pretty good though.

11. Most loved kitchen appliance?
E: My vitamix! I’m pretty sure that’s my ONLY real kitchen appliance – the only other ones I own are a toaster and a microwave, neither of which I ever use. Ever.

K: Food Processor (I have a bunch of different blade attachments for it), but the blender comes in a close second. With those two appliances, you can make pretty much anything!

12. Spice/herb you would die without?
E: Cumin? Garlic, too!

K: Either cumin or cardamom.

13. Cookbook you have owned for the longest time?
E: I’m going with vegan cookbooks, so I think Vegan With A Vengeance.

K: 20 minute meatless meals or something like that. Sadly, I haven’t used it much- it doesn’t have pictures and I am such a visual person!

14. Favorite flavor of jam/jelly?
E: Mmm, I’ve never met a jam I didn’t like. Marmalade, too!

K: ooh, I love raspberry, but am always interested by the really exotic sounding ones too. But homemade anything beats the pants off of storebought.

15. Favorite vegan recipe to serve to an omni friend?
E: I actually get really worried about serving omnivores, so I usually opt for a meal where they can pick and choose what to eat – either a tapas style thing, or something like burritos with several different fillings, etc.

K: An absolutely decadent dessert! There seems to be a misconception that vegans are deprived, I like to remove all doubt!

16. Seitan, tofu, or tempeh?
E: Tempeh!

K: Tofu, so versatile!

17. Favorite meal to cook (or time of day to cook)?
E: I like to cook supper – that’s the meal I usually try and put a little more effort in to.

K: I love cooking on the weekends when I have endless time to putter around and make lots of tasty things!

18. What is sitting on top of your refrigerator?
E: Oh jeez, I don’t have much storage space, so it’s totally a valid shelf. It holds: aforementioned un-used microwave, kombucha jar, 4 types of cereal (I don’t really eat cereal, so they live up there for the boyfriend), phonebook, empty bottles for bottling kombucha, and 2 jars of nuts.

K: Are you sure you really want to know? A phonebook and a rotting pear core… In my defense, the pear core is in a petri dish-it’s part of a Biology experiment.

19. Name 3 items in your freezer without looking.
E: Frozen fruit, frozen beans, and lots of nuts and seeds. 🙂

K: Organic corn, shelled edamame, juice concentrate

20. What’s on your grocery list?
E: Limes! I go through an ungodly amount of limes, and I’ve been without them for about a week. I’m in withdrawal!

K: So far; soymilk, brussels sprouts, sweet potato, and spaghetti squash because they are on sale this week but I will surely be getting other stuff too. Again with the flying by the seat of my pants thing…

21. Favorite grocery store?
E: I’m going to go with Whole Foods – when I lived in the states last year I adored shopping there. There needs to be more locations in Canada!

K: It’s not really a grocery store perse, kind of a cross between a vegetable stand and a grocery store. It’s a local place that sells mostly local fruits and veggies and they have the cheapest prices by far! I love it, even though it’s a good trip from my place now, SO worth it!

22. Name a recipe you’d love to veganize, but haven’t yet.
E: Hmm, I can’t really think of anything. I have to admit, I don’t really like veganizing recipes, except for baked goods. It’s just sort of gross, y’know?

K: Butter tarts! Such a Canadian thing, but I used to love ’em! I also keep meaning to try Ricki’s version of them.

23. Food blog you read the most (besides Isa’s because I know you check it everyday). Or maybe the top 3?
E: I follow an obscene number of vegan blogs, and since I use google reader, I read them all equally!

K: The Voracious Vegan, Oh She Glows (not entirely a food blog, but lots of food content), The Blooming Platter although really I read waaay more than three so this is more of a random selection than anything else!

24. Favorite vegan candy/chocolate?
E: Right now I am totally loving Coco Camino’s bittersweet chocolate bar – it’s very dark chocolate, but it’s still sweet, which I love.

K: I’m not too picky, pretty much any vegan dark chocolate and I am a happy camper!

25. Most extravagant food item purchased lately?
E: Um, yacon syrup and raw cacao powder. Veeery extravagant.

K: I have been on a pretty strict budget as of late so nothing very extravagent at all-some okra last week that was more expensive than I would normally purchase. But I am really wanting to buy some lucuma powder here which would actually qualify!

26. Ingredients you are scared to work with?

E: In theory, nothing, but I’ve definitely noticed that I sometimes subconsciously pass over recipes that I think I’m assuming are too complex. I need to get out of my comfort zone more often!

K: Spicy peppers! I am such a wimp when it comes to spicy things so I stay faar away from hot peppers.

-E and K

P.S. Dont forget to enter our giveaway ending this week!